Stamping saga reignited as EPCR appeal decision after Nigel Owens’ criticism

Ex-Referee Nigel Owens and Bristol Bears lock Josh Caulfield being sent off against Connacht in the Investec Champions Cup.
Bristol Bears lock Josh Caulfield could still be banned following his sending-off for stamping in the Investec Champions Cup defeat to Connacht.
The second-rower was sent off by the referee Pierre Brousset in the 27-10 loss to Connacht on Friday, January 19.
Following the match, Caulfield faced an independent Disciplinary Committee, which overturned his red card. The Committee determined that the lock had committed an act of foul play. However, it found that the offence did not warrant a red card.
Former international referee Nigel Owens slammed the Committee’s decision on social media platform X, formerly Twitter.
“How can they say this is foul play but not red card. If it’s not foul play and complete accident then play on. If It’s reckless and foul play then it has to be RC. For what it’s worth it’s a RC [red card] for me as it’s not a natural action of rucking and reckless. Glad I retired,” his post read.
How can they say this is foul play but not red card. If it’s not foul play and complete accident then play on. If It’s reckless and foul play then it has to be RC. For what it’s worth it’s a RC for me as it’s not a natural action of rucking and reckless.
Glad I retired 🙈 https://t.co/VYHam8NtgL— Nigel Owens MBE (@Nigelrefowens) January 23, 2024
EPCR appeal
Now, the EPCR have confirmed that they will be appealing the Committee’s decision and that Bristol’s Caulfield will now face an independent Appeal Committee.
Under World Rugby’s Sanctions for Foul Play, Law 9.12, stamping or trampling carries the following sanction entry points:
Low end: 2 weeks
Mid-range: 6 weeks
Top end: 12 to 52 weeks
Bristol lock Josh Caulfield has had his red card against Connacht overturned.
Caulfield did not accept he had committed an act of foul play.
Disciplinary committee decided Caulfield had committed an act of foul play but "found that the offence did not warrant a red card." pic.twitter.com/HN5gAOxQJa
— Murray Kinsella (@Murray_Kinsella) January 23, 2024
Their statement read:
“EPCR is appealing the decision of an independent Disciplinary Committee to overturn the red card which was issued to the Bristol Bears player, Josh Caulfield, during his club’s Investec Champions Cup, Round 4 match against Connacht Rugby at the Dexcom Stadium.
“Caulfield was sent off by the referee, Pierre Brousset (France), in the 13th minute of the match for stamping on the Connacht Rugby prop, Finlay Bealham, in contravention of Law 9.12.
“The Committee found that Caulfield had committed an act of foul play, however, it decided that the offence did not warrant a red card, and the red card decision was overturned.
“An independent Appeal Committee comprising Sir James Dingemans KC (England), Chair, Jean-Noël Couraud (France) and Donal Courtney (Ireland) will adjudicate on the matter by video conference tomorrow (Tuesday, 30 January).”
READ MORE: Premiership Team of the Week: Barnstorming Bristol Bears rewarded by George Chuter