Debate rages after clearout on Wales’ Nick Tompkins goes unpunished

Wales' Nick Tompkins cleaned out by Argentina's Guido Petti in Rugby World Cup quarter-final.
Fans and pundits were split down the middle when Argentina lock Guido Petti connected with the head of Nick Tompkins during Argentina’s victory over Wales.
Warren Gatland’s men were 17-12 ahead following Tomos Williams’ try when Los Pumas went on the attack.
They were pressurising the Welsh line and were around 10 metres out from the try-line as Lucio Cinti carried into contact.
Tompkins and Dan Biggar attempted to hold him up, but referee Karl Dickson called ‘tackle’, which meant they had to release.
That formed a ruck and as Petti attempted to clear out Biggar, his right arm came into the contact with Tompkins’ head while the centre was falling to ground.
DIM CIC GOSB
Er yr ergyd i ben Nick Tompkins, dyw hi ddim yn gic gosb i Gymru. 🏴
🏴 – 🇦🇷
📺 @S4C#RWC2023 | #WALvARG | @welshrugbyunion https://t.co/1INYozXGsC— S4C Rygbi (@S4CRygbi) October 14, 2023
TMO intervenes
Dickson initially played on having given a penalty advantage to Los Pumas for an earlier incident before television match official Marius Jonker alerted him to the potential foul play.
However, the referee decided that it was basically a rugby incident with the Argentine lock not at fault as he clearly wrapped and had legally cleared out Biggar in the process.
That was the view of Rugby Inside Line, who wrote on X, formerly known as Twitter: “That’s accidental… Tompkins is going down whilst he’s clearing out a separate player.”
Plenty disagreed, with one putting: “Not an accident. Reckless yes. Yellow regardless,” while another added: “You’re wrong, it’s a head shot. That’s foul play.”
Dickson explained to Wales that “not all head contact is foul play”, but rugby journalist Chris Jones was surprised that Petti’s action was not punished.
“Still bemused by shot on Nick Tompkins which was a yellow at least and probable red. Seemed officials were determined to talk it down,” he wrote.
It was a key moment as play went back to a previous Welsh infringement, which allowed Argentina to set up another lineout. Los Pumas would eventually score from the pressure exerted, giving them a lead they would not relinquish to move into the World Cup semi-finals.
That decision was critical in the context of the match, but the referee received plenty of support for his brave call, with one writing: “Dickson taking control and getting that decision 100% spot on.”
Welsh pundits in agreement
Former Wales players Gareth Thomas and Jamie Roberts, who were working as pundits for ITV, were asked for their opinion and they felt the officials got it right.
“It was very clear that the referee called ‘tackle’, so the player is going to go down and he is going to hit the ruck,” Thomas said.
“I thought the referee did a very clear, good job in explaining why he made the decision he made.”
Roberts added: “I would agree with the lads, he managed that moment really well because that could have changed the game.”
Australian legend George Gregan was also on the panel and he feels attempting to hold players up in an attempt to gain a turnover can actually result in higher-than-usual cleanouts.
“It was about right. If you’re tactically trying to keep people up, you’re actually forcing the person to clean out a little bit higher, so if there’s a slight bit of movement, which is the mitigating circumstance, then this is going to happen,” Gregan said.
“It thought it was managed pretty well from the referee.”
READ MORE: Drama as injury forces referee change during Wales v Argentina Rugby World Cup quarter-final